Pear Custard Pie

We had people over for dinner this Saturday night. And so, as usual, I volunteered myself for dessert making duty.

So I decided I would have my first proper shot of making a pastry case for a pie :-) I usually get Dad to make the pastry for me, or use biscuit bases or some other thing, but this time I decided that I would make my own :-)

(Look how messy our kitchen gets when we have people for tea!)
And it didn’t really work . It was a little too dry and crumbly. But it’s okay. Because the filling made up for it :-D

Pear Custard Pie
(slightly modified from this recipe from food for my family)

Ingredients:

  • 1 quantity of your favourite pie crust recipe (the one I tried was so disappointing I’m not going to bother posting it)
  • 4 firm pears, peeled and sliced
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 plain flour
  • 1 tsp vanilla bean paste
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup buttermilk

Method

  1. Prepare pie crust. Hopefully you do a better job than I did with mine.
  2. Preheat oven to 220 degrees
  3. Place pear into pie crust
  4. Combine dry ingredients, then whisk in wet
  5. Pour over pears
  6. Bake at 220 degrees for 10 minutes, then lower temperature to 175 degrees and continue to cook for 50-60 minutes
  7. Allow to cool slightly before removing from tin
  8. Enjoy with ice cream or cream


 I didn’t really think before removing my flan dish

Luckily Dad saved the day

I’m not very camera-savvy, and the depth of focus did get ridiculously shallow when I was taking photos of this pie. I need to see if I can get someone to fix it for me.



But as delicious as that pie was (as evidenced by the empty plate :-) ) I am still sad about the fail of the pie crust. Do you have any tips, tricks, or a good recipe for a pie crust?

This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pear Custard Pie

  1. I’m so glad you enjoyed the pie! As far as the crust goes, I use a basic pâte brisée recipe: cold ingredients to start, just enough water sritzed or drizzled on to get it to bind, and then let it rest at least 30 minutes in the refrigerator before rolling. Good luck with your next one!

    • I think what I did wrong was that I was so scared of adding too much water I didn’t add enough :/ and keeping it all colder, that’s what I’m going to try next time :-) thanks for sharing such a great recipe!

Leave a Reply

