Roast Vegetable, Pinenut and Goat’s Fetta Pizza

(Today’s guest post – from my Mum!)

While my daughter provided the sweet treats for her brother’s party yesterday I decided to make pizzas. He thought his friends would like Margherita or simple Salami and Olive I decided that I would make something a bit more interesting as well – after all I was eating Pizza for tea too.

I had some Goat’s Fetta in the fridge that noone was eating and thought of a favourite rissotto recipe of mine that has roast pumpkin, pinenuts and feta in it.  I decided to put those three ingredients in my pizza.

I had some baby eggplants in the fridge and a red capsicum and decided they would add colour, flavour and substance to my pizza.  The final ingredient was some sliced, cooked potato – but if I made it again I would leave that out (as I have done in the recipe below).  It didn’t add anything to the flavour and the other vegetables made it filling enought.

I diced the pumpkin and chopped the eggplant but left the capsicum whole and put them in the oven on 230C for about half an hour, turning them once.  By that time the capsicum’s skin was bursting and the veges were soft and cool.

I peeled the skin off the capsicum and cut it into strips and then assembled the pizza, starting with some bottled italian tomato sauce and a sprinkle of italian herbs. Then potato, pumpkin, eggplant, capsicum and topping it off with blobs of goat’s fetta and some fresh basil leaves.

The final product was good – or so I thought. My son’s friends, as predicted like the more traditional pizzas I made, leaving plenty of this one for me!

Next time I think I will omit the potato and add more herbs and perhaps some fresh chilli to give it a bit more zing!

Roast Vegetable, Pinenut and Goat’s Fetta Pizza

Ingredients:

  • wholemeal pitta bread for pizza base
  • bottled italian tomato sauce
  • italian dried herb mix
  • butternut pumpkin
  • baby lebanese eggplants
  • red capsicum
  • Goat’s Fetta cheese
  • Pine nuts
  • Large (mild) red chilli (optional)

Method:

  • Dice the pumpkin and cut the eggplant in half lengthways.
  • Coat pumpkin, eggplant and capsicum in olive oil and place in the oven at 230C.  Check and turn after 20 minutes and then remove when nicely cooked.
  • Put the capsicum in a plastic bag to steam and cool down.  When cool enough to touch remove the skin and cut into strips.
  • Spread about 2 tablespoons of italian tomato sauce onto the pitta and sprinkle with about 1/2 teaspoon of italian herbs.
  • Arrange the other ingredients on top of the pizza, finishing with the goat’s cheese and some fresh basil leaves.
  • Place on a pizza stone or tray in the oven for 10 – 15 minutes until the base is nice and crispy, the cheese is oozy and the pine nuts are starting to brown.
  • Remove from the oven – enjoy!
This entry was posted in Baking, Dinner, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Roast Vegetable, Pinenut and Goat’s Fetta Pizza

  1. Eftychia says:

    This pizza looks and sounds delicious!

Leave a Reply

