Easter Cake (a.k.a brownie cake with nutella icing filled with white chocolate buttercream)

This week was chocolate week for my uni’s baking club. So of course I had to make my easter cake 😀

Now, I’m not going to lie, this cake is rich. But this cake is also good, all the different flavours (of chocolate) really work well together. But it’s easter time! If you can’t eat a large amount of chocolate now – when can you?

Easter Cake
Print Recipe 

Ingredients:

Cake

  • 175g unsalted butter
  • 225g dark chocolate
  • 200g caster sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 65g flour
  • optional: 50g chopped nut (I omitted because I am always worried about putting nuts in food that I’m sharing)

White Chocolate Buttercream Filling
(exactly the same as this recipe from Comfortably Domestic, just a half recipe, but you should really check out her blog if the rest of her recipes are as good as this buttercream. Because this buttercream is really really good. I’ve copy-pasted the recipe here for ease of use)

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter
  • 1 1/4 cup icing sugar
  • Pinch salt
  • 85g white chocolate
  • 1/8 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract

Nutella ganache

  • equal parts nutella and cream (I used one small nutella jar)

Method:

Cake

  1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees
  2. Butter and line a 20-25cm cake tin
  3. Heat 175g chocolate, butter and sugar until melted and well combined, leave to cool
  4. Whisk egg yolks into chocolate mixture
  5. Add flour, nuts, and remaining chocolate (chopped)
  6. Whisk egg white until soft peaks form
  7. Fold egg whites into chocolate mixture
  8. Pour into tin and bake for 35-40 minutes (until crusty on top – but be careful as it will burn very quickly if you leave it in too long)
  9. You can actually serve this cake just dusted with icing sugar, and it’s perfectly delicious, however, if you want to ice and fill it, read on

White chocolate butter cream
(From Comfortably Domestic)

  1. Melt white chocolate, set aside to cool
  2. Sift salt and sugar and add to butter, then cream until white and fluffy
  3. Pour in cream while mixer is on low, add vanilla
  4. Fold in white chocolate
  5. Beat icing on medium high for about 3 minutes

Nutella Ganache

  1. Put ingredients in saucepan
  2. Heat on low heat until ingredients are melted and well combined
  3. Allow to cool before using

Cut the finished cake in half

Which is easier said than done – but this can be fixed!

I cannot express in words how fluffy and creamy and delicious the buttercream was

Re-assemble your cake

And it’s easily patched up with a bit of buttercream 🙂

Now for the ganache – get jar of nutella (or 1 cup of nutella)

Put nutella in saucepan

Fill empty nutella jar with cream (or use 1 cup cream)

Now for the fun bit – applying the ganache

Then decorating is all that’s needed

The only pictures I have it cut are from my iPhone, because I didn’t have my camera at uni :/ but here it is

What are you making this easter? 🙂

This entry was posted in Baking, Cake, Chocolate and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Easter Cake (a.k.a brownie cake with nutella icing filled with white chocolate buttercream)

  1. CokaRabbit says:

    The Cake looks Super cute and yummy!

  2. Assia says:

    Wow, this looks absolutely fantastic! Thanks for sharing!

  3. Thankyou 🙂 I promise it tastes just as good!

  4. Holy WOW! Gwen, your Easter cake looks fantastic!

  5. Purely.. Kay says:

    Oh my.. I think I’ve found my chocolate nirvana. I can’t tell you how much I love this post. This is just decadent, delicious, and so sinful. I LOVE this

  6. Pingback: Hot “Cross” Bread | Teenage Girl Cooks

  7. T2K says:

    It looks like a giant Orio cookie!

Leave a Reply

