Best Banana Cake

Sometimes modesty is the best policy – but not when it comes to this banana cake. Gooey and moist, just the right amount of sweetness, and with a delicious buttery nut topping that adds the perfect amount of crunch.

It’s based on a recipe from this wonderful compendium, but with a couple of alterations which make it even more moist and banana-y – because that’s how I like my banana cakes 🙂

Banana Cake
(based of Stephanie’s Simple Banana Cake recipe)

Ingredients:

Cake

  • 115g softened unsalted butter
  • 1.5 cups sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1.5 cups mashed banana (I like to leave mine a little chunky)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 250g plain flour
  • 1tsp bicarb soda
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp allspice
  • 1/3 cup butter milk

Topping

  • 100g butter
  • 3 tbsp chopped pecans (walnuts would also be yummy)
  • 3 tbsp self raising flour
  • 1.5 tsp cinnamon
  • 3 tbsp brown sugar

Method:

  1. Grease and line a 20cm square cake tin
  2. Preheat oven to 180 degrees
  3. Cream butter and sugar
  4. Beat in eggs, banana and vanilla
  5. Combine dry ingredients, and add to banana mixture, alternating with buttermilk
  6. Spoon into cake tin
  7. Combine ingredients for topping (I find a fork is a useful method of doing this)
  8. Spoon dollops onto the surface of your cake
  9. Bake for 45 minutes or until tests clean
  10. Allow to cool for a few minutes before turning out onto a wire rack
  11. You should wait until it’s cool before cutting. But it smelt so good that I didn’t…

Omnomnomnomnomnom

I took this cake into work, and within two hours there was not a crumb left. So I think I can term this cake a success.

I know that for me, nothing can rival my mother’s lasagna, or my brownies. Have you got any recipes that you think are the “best”?

This entry was posted in Baking, Cake and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Best Banana Cake

  1. I’ve never baked a banana cake yet. I’d like to try, so I suppose I’ve now found the best recipe for it!
    As for a ‘best’ recipe, I have so many that I like that it’s hard to choose. But if we stick to baking, then it’s not so hard, because everyone loves my almond-coconut-lemon cookies.
    http://stefangourmet.com/2012/01/22/almond-coconut-lemon-macarons/

  2. mythineats says:

    That looks scrumptious. I have to try it with that delicious topping. Nice post

  3. Evelyn says:

    This looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

