Chocolate Chilli Ganache

So the macarons didn’t work again. The batter just wasn’t working for me. I think I’m going to have to go back to basics and try again from the start *shakes fist at new oven*. But I do have a recipe for you today 🙂 the chocolate chilli ganache I’ve been using to fill these pathetic shells – and which transformed them from disappointing macarons to delicious meringue  sandwich biscuits.

😦 completely failures as macarons. They were still quite tasty though 🙂 This ganache though:

Delicious.

Chocolate Chilli Ganache

Ingredients:

  • 100g good quality dark chocolate
  • 100g thick cream
  • 1/2 tsp chilli powder
  • a tiny tiny bit of cayenne pepper

Method:

  • Put all ingredients in saucepan
  • Heat on low heat until combined
  • Allow to cool – if coagulates then put in a mixer for a minute or two – this can make it lovely and fluffy so I usually just do it anyway 🙂
Now this recipe is quite strong – it’s designed to be a filling. If you aren’t so good with chilli, or you want to use this as an icing, then I suggest using less chilli powder and omitting the cayenne entirely. But I like mine hot. It was particularly amusing when my unassuming little brother ate a big spoon of the icing without knowing it was chilli flavoured 😀

 

The better quality the chocolate you use, the better quality the ganache will be.

You only need a teeny weeny bit of the cayenne. That stuff is strong.

Now, as delicious as the ganache was, I couldn’t take my failed macarons to my baking club meeting, so I whipped up a quick batch of these instead:

Stay tuned for the recipe 🙂 what was your worst recipe fail?

 

This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chocolate Chilli Ganache

  1. Pingback: Salted Caramel Cupcakes | Teenage Girl Cooks

  2. Skye Brand says:

    I stumbled upon this blog after googling “chilli ganache” (I want to make chocolates for my wedding anniversary next weekend). This sounds delicious!

    As for worst baking fail…we have had a few lately as we have had to transition to wheat free lifestyle after my 2 year old daughter was diagnosed with a wheat allergy. I’m yet to find a mix that adequately compensates for a regular all purpose wheat flour.

    The pancakes this morning BOUNCED when I dropped one!

Leave a Reply

